20. Is social media a fad?

3 Nov

Watch this first:

Now what do you think?

Sure anyone can create a cool video to make you believe just about anything. Throw a few facts and percentages in there and it looks pretty legitimate. But don’t know you that 76% of statistics are made up on the spot?! (see what I did there?) So how do we know that social media is everything it is cracked up to be and won’t crash in a few years?

One way I know is by looking at my day-to-day activities. How many times have I been on Facebook today? About 3-5 times. How many times have I tweeted? Twice. How long have I spent on my blog today? About 1 and a half hours. And mind you it is only 2:45 in the afternoon. Those number may double or triple by the time I shut my computer down for the night. Just look at the tabs I have open now: my email, WordPress, Twitter, StumbleUpon, YouTube, Wikipedia and one of my favorite blogs. If that is not proof enough that social media is a big deal, than I don’t know what is.

Lets look at the newest Did You Know/Shift Happens video and see what they think:

Leave a Reply

